The History of Whaddon Golf Course
- Whaddon (or Wadone as it was originally called) was first mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1086.
- In the 13th century the church of St Mary was founded with the nave and tower being added in the late 14th century.
- Much of Whaddon was formerly part of the estate of Wimpole Hall from the 1700’s.
- In 1812, an Act authorised the creation of a canal running from Whaddon to Sawston as part of the Stort Navigation, but the canal was never dug.
- In 1875 the Earl of Hardwicke built a school in the village and which became the Village Hall after the school closed in the 1960's.
- Whaddon has its own unique Whitsun tradition. This involves singing a rather unusual song around the village before and on Whit Sunday itself. The tradition seems to have died out at the beginning of the 20th century, but was revived once for the coronation of King George VI in 1937, and was revived as a regular event in 2005.
- There are no longer any pubs in Whaddon. Between 1841 and around 1900 The Pickering Arms was open in the village, becoming a farmhouse after it closed and burning down in around 1970.
- In 1987 Ken Green started the construction of the Whaddon Golf Centre.